Pain Confessor

Band Background

The Finnish bruiser-weight champion of melodic death metal, Hämeenlinna’s Pain Confessor was formed in 2002 and signed a three-album deal with Megamania in 2003. Having released its debut single “Poor Man’s Crown” and 1st full-length, “Turmoil”, in 2004, they quickly earned wider recognition, scoring the Newcomer of the Year Award at the Sirkkelirock Metal Weekend (predecessor of Finnish Metal Awards) in 2005 and had the album released in the G/A/S Region in August 2005.

With singles ruling the Finnish charts, Pain Confessor released album number two, “Fearrage”, in 2006. Peaking at #26 on the Finnish album charts, the album was also released in Japan in May 2006.

Album number three was preceded in release by the Finnish #1 hit single "Ne Plus Ultra." The album, “Purgatory of the Second Sun”, would continue Pain Confessor’s steady ascent, hitting #15 on the domestic album charts in 2007. “Purgatory” was also released Europe-wide with Plastic Head’s distribution.

“Purgatory of the Second Sun” concluded the band’s contract with Megamania, and Markku Kivisto (vocals), Mikko Kivisto (bass, vocals), Tuomas Kuusinen (guitars), Vesa “Wesleyer” Säkkinen (guitars), Pasi Laihanen (keyboards), and Mikko Laihanen (drums) spent the early days of 2008 looking for the next stepping stone to further glory. But what in 2008 started as a much needed break to rejuvenate themselves, Pain Confessor’s pause would stretch into a four year hiatus, during whichnot much was heard from the Pain Confessor front apart from one demo, “Demo 2009”.

Early 2011 the band, according to their own words, were ”…Sitting at the jolly old campfire, singing the same old songs, feeling the need to kick this shit up a notch and start doing something really concrete… dealing themselves a new hand and reorganized ranks. Now with the lines intact again and an equal lead guitarist pairing that is turning out to be one hell of a metal tornado we have set out to demo 2 new songs… they’re called "Never" and "Serpent Spine" …”

Next thing you know, the Finnish watchdog for all things musically awesome, Spinefarm Records, signed Pain Confessor in early 2012. Celebrating their 10th anniversary the band now climb the first steps of a new beginning. The new label being the key that unlocks the gargantuan shackles, the band is no longer “Incarcerated” in a record label Limbo-Land. Crushing as much as caressing wherever they may roar, Pain Confessor finally unleash the beast!

The band comment on the “Incarcerated”: “We are rowing a truly grim river. The renewed lineup boasts with vigor to go through a stone wall, the material heavy as a murderer’s burden. Is it better than “Turmoil”? No, it is a completely different record and stands on its own upon fresh soil. The crew’s newest inmates bring along a whole new bag of tricks with which to drill deeper into the hidden reaches of human mind with newborn fervor.”



Your Details